RSS Feed

Magic Perfecting Base L’Oréal Paris

Magic Perfecting Base Foundation Makeup | L’Oréal Paris.

My eyes have extreme circles underneath. Large and dark ones. At times, I feel like an insomniac raccoon. Day in and day out, no matter how much sleep I get or which moisturizer I apply twice daily. They are there, in living colour. The only solution I’ve found is to cover them in thin layers.

I always moisturize first. To be honest, I have yet to find one that makes any difference, so the brand is negligible. It just doesn’t matter. I’ve tried everything from $12 drugstore finds to the $50 higher end products. Not one has made a moderate difference, but I still try anything I can get my hands on.

The next layer is the Magic Perfecting Base from L’oreal. I apply this only to my under eye area in a thin layer. This helps my concealer stay in one place without sliding around on my oily skin. The base itself is a soft pink colour that helps fill in fine lines and smooth the area. It has an almost spongy texture that spreads out easily. I couldn’t say for sure that it tones down my circles any, but even a little help goes a long way. For me, it’s more important that it keeps my layers intact throughout the workday.

Over top of this base, I add corrector (CoverGirl Ageless Corrector, which I am not a fan), top with concealer (CoverGirl Ageless), and a thin layer of foundation to blend into my face. It sounds like a lot, but the thin layers are the key.

The Perfecting Base is a vital step for me. Without this, I invariably look like I was in a fist fight by my first coffee break. Not the look I’m striving for. I’m on my second pot and I will definitely repurchase this.

4 responses »

  1. Have you tried Benefit Beauty Erase Paste? Originally designed for dark under eye circles, I also use it to cover up blemishes, and I use a foundation brush to apply. However, its sole purpose is for under eyes. I gave some to my mother so she could try it out and she seems to really like how it works for her. They also make a product called La-La-Lift that is a brightener, which you apply under your eyes to reflect light. Geez, can you tell I’m a Benefit Babe?! I do enjoy their products, though. They’re owned by Louis Vuitton now, but still very reasonably priced. Probably the lowest I’ve seen for a department store brand! Good luck and if you try it out, let me know what you think. I LOVE their products.

    Reply
    • I’m with you on Benefit, I’m quickly becoming a huge fan. I ordered the Confessions of a Concealaholic last week from Sephora and I’m looking forward to trying it out. I’ll keep you posted.

      Reply
  2. I have tried Magic Perfecting Base from L’oreal, but my favorite Primer is Makeup Forever HD Primers, they are great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

